Indecision

Veredict’s in: I need surgery on my left wrist. With it I’m gonna have 3 of those on my back, and though thoughts of my painful recovery from the previous 2 I had on my right wrist keep flooding me, when the doctor told me I felt like he was casually sharing me news from another patient… I didn’t feel anything. Also, an inner voive keeps telling me that this isn’t real so I don’t need to worry about it. I’ve even managed to feel better, so maybe I’ve fought this thing off, like it was possible to “fight off” a damaged ligament that has cysts.

When my more reallistic side tells me that I should get the surgery as soon as possible so that my condition doesn’t get any worst, I can only mentally utter that I’ll have to wait until until I’ve finished the-thesis-that-must-not-be-named because there’s no way I’m writing it with one hand.  Ironically, accostumed as I am to finding new things to procrastinate on instead of working on my thesis (hence this blog), now she (yes, she) has become a way of delaying my surgery until further notice. And hell, it has worked so far, I’ve gotten more work done on it on these 2 post-diagnosis days than I had in weeks. Also, I find myself miraculously enjoying my job more, so I can tell myself it’d really be a shame to skip some days of work, even if it’s on a sick leave of absence, and I certanily cannot be absent one more day if I’m indeed gonna have to take some days off. I’ve even stopped having self-harm thoughts, maybe because I know that there is quite a lot of pain right around the corner for me anyways.

I don’t know if I want to or if I will get the surgery yet, but it seems like having it in the horizon can be a positive thing for me…even when most of the time it feels like this isn’t really happening to me.

13 thoughts on “Indecision

  1. Oh no!!! Please have the surgery. In the long run, it’ll be better for you. I have problems with my wrists too. I’ve had 9 surgeries (between the 2 wrists) over the past 12 years. Sorry you’re in so much pain right now though. There’s nothing worse than feeling pain 24-7.

    • Nine??? I’m so sorry! And are you okay now? Doc asked me to take this powder thingy that contains glucosamine and analgesic (and tastes like sh*t) to manage the pain and delay the surgery for a little bit. I’ve decided not to delay it too much though, so my condition doesn’t get any worse and hopefully the recovery is faster. Thanks for caring! xx

Leave a thought...

