Sharing the good stuff

The lovely Attachment Girl from The Boundary Ninja Tales has nominated me for the Wonderful Team Member Readership Award. I was glad and surprised that such a talented bologger whom I admire so much would consider me for an award, so thank you so much AG!!!!

For the first two awards this blog got, received when it was still wearnig diappers, I was excited and very happy, but didn’t really know what to do with them besides sticking them on my home page. Now I know a little bit better, and in case I didn’t, this one comes with a set of instructions, which are as follow:

The Rules

1. The Nominee of the Wonderful Team Member Readership Award will display the logo on his/her post/page and/or sidebar.
 
2. Over a period of 1 week, the Nominee shall nominate a number of readers that he or she appreciates – this can be done at any rate during the week. It can be all on one day or a few on one day and a few on another day, as most convenient to the Nominee. – 

This is my list of Nominees, there are obviously some more readers whom I appreciate very much, I just based this list on people who have left over here comments I’ve particularly appreciated:

Buckwheat @ Buckwheatsrisk

Benjamin @ Expressions of my life

Melanie @ Deliberate Donkey

Purple Pineapple @  Purple Pineapple

Goldfish @ Fish of Gold

Aallegoric @ Always Allegoric

Inés @ Inesdelorange

3. The Nominee shall name his or her Wonderful Team Member Readership Award nominees on a post or on posts during the 7 day (1 week) period.

4.  The nominee shall answer the questions, all in the spirit of fun!

1) Why do you blog?
I’m not really sure, I guess it’s some kind of exorcism. I’ve always written, but have only recently gotten fond of sharing it. Letting my thoughts out, wether they are deep or an absolute waste of time and space, has somehow helped me deal with my personal issues, including my mental health. One thing’s for sure, I love it, I think it may even be a little adictive, but hey! who doesn’t need a healthy addiction right?

2) If you were trapped on a desert island, what book, DVD, food, cartoon character, and childhood game would you bring?

Book: Following AG’s example I won’t, because I can’t, choose just one, but five: First of all The Little Prince a book that gives a lot of meaning to my life (I even have a tattoo that proves it!). Second, The Sea Wall by Marguerite Duras; third, the very gem of my personal library, my very own William Shakespeare Complete Works; fourth, my Selected Works of Virginia Woolf; and fifth, a little reading from my field, Latin American Women: Historical Perspectives, an awesome book that helped me define what I want to do with my life.

DVD: The Lord of the Rings trilogy
Food: Sushi
Cartoon Character: Candy Candy (japanese anime for girls, good times! :))
Childhood Game: This one took me a lot of time and I simply can’t say, how sad is that!? Can it be a childhood book? lol. Let’s say yes, in which case I’ll say Harry Potter. I’m part of the lucky generation that went from the teen years to young adulthood reading Mrs. Rowling, and I would have given up absolutely any game to get a hold of my Harry Potter series 🙂

3) Share a funny joke or one-liner.
Gosh I’m might have to google one, I’m terrible with jokes!

4) What is your favorite thing about yourself?
Mmm, my Tetris skills? Either that or my ability of being an observer.
5) What one word best describes you?
Curious.

6) If you could have a lifetime supply of any candy/candy bar, what would it be?

Technically it’s not a candy but I say ice-cream counts. I choose Ben & Jerry’s Cherry García, yummie!

7) What fictional character do you relate to most?

This is a tricky one, but I guess I’d have to go with Marguerite from The Lover and The Sea WallThe autobiographic novels by Marguerite Duras made a profoun impact on me, for obvious reasons like the tragic relationship ( don’t really know how to call it, but problematic seems like an understatement) she and her mother have or her affair with a much older man, but also for the way she transmits the pain that comes from family trauma or being a victim of emotional abuse, of not being able to feel loved and important, of remaining always a runner up in people’s affections. Duras is absolutely and without a doubt my favorite author, and I would advise anyone who loves literature to read her, her other works like The War are also amazingly accurate in transmitting pain; there’s another short novel called L’Amante Anglaise which deals with a psychoanalitic approach to a puzzling bloody murder (which happens to be comitted on MY birthday! Yet another thing I can relate to, however strange it may be)… ok ok I’ll leave it here, but only because Duras deserves a whole post, which I’ll get to later on.


8) If you were to write the story of your life, what would you call it?

9 lives

14 thoughts on “Sharing the good stuff

  1. Thank you so much for thinking of me! I already see myself struggling with these questions 🙂 The things you say about Marguerite Duras’s works sound very interesting and I’ll check her out (once I have enough time again but I’ll definitely keep her in mind). xx

    • Thank you for being such a caring reader, I appreciate it so much! I read you’re not feeling well today, I’m really sorry, sending you big hugs if you want them, give yourself a chance to take a soothing tea and take it super easy on you! xoxo

      • thank you! you are truly amazing. i just can’t seem to shake this sadness i’ve got going on..i wonder if therapy is just surfacing things and i haven’t been in a while but i will be going next week, i’m just afraid of what i’ll find next…also feeling period instead of being numb is rather overwhelming.
        i’m bummed about my site complications as well. Anyway, blah…sorry for the vent! xo

        • Don’t worry, I’m here for you, vent away girl! Is hubby with you this week? I really hope your site’s problems are fixed soon. If you want to do a guest post I would be more than honored to have you over here. As for the feeling stuff, I know it’s pretty hard, hang in there, I thinkit may be for the best, and remember you’re not alone. Sending you lots of hugs if you want/need them! xxoo

          • Are you ever sweet thank you so very much!! Same to you, if you ever want to do a guest post here, once the “under construction” sign is down! Apparently the site is as fixed as it’s going to get, minus a gravatar adjustment on the forum page.
            I guess the “feeling stuff” is good, just hard. Hubby is away but will be back on Tues. night. I’m glad he gets the break from it!
            I’ll take the hugs and hugs back!! xo

  2. Can’t believe I just “discovered” this: “Although mexican, for reasons unknown I prefer to write in English.” Soy dominicana, pero todas mis cuentas (Internet) están escritas en inglés —no sólo porque tengo amigos (muy cercanos y queridos) que no entienden ni hostia de español— sino porque también prefiero escribir en inglés. Curioso, no?

  3. Pingback: Three awards and a story « Deliberate Donkey

Leave a thought...

