Taking a shower: a challenging task

Taking a shower can be so hard sometimes. It amazes me how something most people take for granted can be such a difficult thing to do for me. There are days when I have to take it step by step. Literally, step by step. There are also days when I just can’t bring myself to doing it.

Just take your clothes off Dani, you can do it. Now, just get inside the shower, just that. Then I’ll stay under the water for some minutes, making my mind up to just grabbing a bit of soap and start rubbing it on my body.  I also have to do this step by step; on the hard days I’ll usually start with my arms and shoulders and work my way outwards.

It puzzles me how on occasions taking a shower can be such a therapeutic experience, and sometimes an absolute torture. Today it was neither, which is not necessarily a bad thing.

“Young woman taking a shower”

“Young woman taking a shower”
(Kazuya Akimoto)

12 thoughts on “Taking a shower: a challenging task

    • Thank you! I’ll go check out your blog right now. I’m always glad to find people who are also on healing paths. I’ve found that sharing experiences, good and bad, is incredibly helpful and rewarding. Hugs back! xx

      • You are so right! My list of friends from blogging is starting to grow. I think that when you are on your journey of healing, you have more awareness and understanding of others’ suffering. Keep writing because you have kindred souls who are reading!

  1. I can completely relate to this.
    I’m recently finding that it can help to laugh at myself for the absurdity of getting into a shower, standing for several minutes and after not having the energy to wash I get back out, wet, but not necessarily much cleaner!
    Sometimes I beat myself up for being so ‘useless’, but there are times when I just shrug and laugh, even if only for the tiniest moment. I’m getting better at shrugging it off (thank you Citalopram!) so I guess I’m starting to accept that I’m depressed instead of fighting against it. After years of fighting it, it seems to have helped to just surrender and accept. It’s early days, so we’ll see…
    Depression is a funny dis-ease…depending on how you look at it!

    • I agree, humor helps a lot along the way! It’s been a year since I started therapy for the firtst time ever, and I’ve found myself laughing at me and the absurity of the predicaments my depression puts me in, instead of just being beaten up by them. I’ll try to remember your thoughts next time I have a hard time showering, thanks! xx

Leave a thought...

