Made it out alive

What are your 2013 resolutions?

For me, I definitely hope to finish the-thesis-that-must-not-be-named, I’ll be damned if I don’t! By the way, Mr. Shrinky and I re-named it the Frankenthesis, ’cause it’s my creation turned against me. I was just watching a movie about a girl who got in a car accident and ended up quadraplegic when she was in junior high ans STILL managed to get into Harvard and get her dissertation done in a flash WITH summa cum laude honors and then went on to a P.H.D. and a postdoctoral stay at who knows where. I mean, come on! Give me a break here! The quadraplegic gets summa cum laude and I can’t finish a four chapter thesis!*

My other resolution (yeah, I don’t trust me so I’m gonna keep it at two) is to loose all the weight I’ve gained in this last depressive time. It sucks to have such a common resolution, but my weight is really something that’s keeping me from enjoying stuff, for example my last trip to the beach. I want my skinny body back, and I’ll get it for me as my birthday gift at any cost.

There was another thing I wanted to add to the list, but I’m not sure when and if I’ll get it done, so I’m gonna leave it in the wish-category. I wish my depression goes away. Like, for good. I’m tired of the ups and downs, of the triggers, of the self-harm, of hating so deeply the way I look… I wish I could be done with it all. I don’t expect to be done with my healing path, I’m well aware that’s a lifetime project and that’s why I’m committing to stay in therapy (maybe I’ll even add it to the resolutions list just so I don’t start wanting to quit as soon as I feel a little better), but I do wish I could go about it in healthier ways. Soon. In other words, I wish life wasn’t so hard all of the damn time.

In the meantime, I’ve made it out in one piece of one of a very difficult time of the year. Now I just have to survive New Year’s Eve and then I’ll be happy to celebrate I made it out alive of 2012 and its celebrations.

‘Til next time!

*I should add, in case needed, I by no means intend to offend anyone with my remark, I just want to point out how bumming it is to find someone who has such overwhelming obstacles and still manages to strive and achieve so much, while yours truly, with much more ordinary hurdles, can’t manage to get a sad little thesis done.

4 thoughts on “Made it out alive

  1. I don’t make resolutions! All the best with frankenthesis!! Don’t be too hard on yourself with that movie, that a disability one can see and i’ll bet a lot of things were made possible for that person. lotsa love

    Happy New Year!

  2. You’ll get it worked out! I am sure of it. You are smart and full of spirit!

    As for the depression, don’t let it take you over! Easier said than done, I know. When you feel down, force yourself to reach out to someone. Email me! I will send you my phone number!!! But reach out to someone who can listen and knows the right type of questions to ask- such as what can I do for you instead of why are you being like this?

    I feel your pain! You know I do!

    (((HUGS!)))
    ~N

    • Thank you so very much! It’s just so hard reaching out, I feel like a such a whiner when I do, and then if I don’t then stuff bottles up inside, but I promise I’ll try not to let it get to that point, maybe I’ll even take up on your offer and email you!
      Wishing you a happy and healthy 2013!

      hugs! xxxx

Leave a thought...

