On writing

I hate making new year resolutions. Mainly because I break them. And because I have the world’s fastest changing mind. However, I do want to make a resolution for 2014. I will live up to my own writing expectations. I may not write daily, but I’ll sure write at least 3 times a week. I

I didn’t use to think of myself as a writer because I’m not terribly prolific, but it’s still my true calling, and the more I accept it, the more fulfilled I feel. Apparently, I even let off some sort of writy-fume too, Mr. Shrinky thinks of me as one, so does the family, and I even had a random stranger ask me if I was a writer when he took one look at my tat that reads: “you have to be stronger than your story”. I may not be the writer I want to be, and I may be a long way from becoming her, but that still doesn’t change what’s inside me and what fuels my life, no matter what my bread-job, as Kafka so brilliantly put it, might be. Besides, come to think about it, my writing has gotten me into so much problems that I should at least be able to consider me a writer.

In any case, that is my one and only resolution for 2014. I wanted to enter the Daily Post 2014 challenge, but I think it’s still too soon for that, so maybe I’ll enter the Weekly Post one, I think I can manage that and a bit more even.

I still have one post under my sleeve for 2013 so I won’t be sending y’all wishes and that, but I do want to thank you for sticking with me for yet another year, you guys rock!!

“A non-writing writer is a monster courting insanity”

Franz Kafka in a letter to Max Brod (July 5, 1922)

Portrait of Franz Kafka by Dhuk

6 thoughts on “On writing

  1. Good luck on your new year. I used to worry because everything i read seem to suggest you need to post X times a week, or every day. Quite frankly i cant follow anyone who posts everyday or one guy who posts several times a day. I dont read everyday and those people clog up my feed so i unfollow them. I always follow the blogger and not the blog. I write and post when i have something important to say and to me it is a big deal when i post a story. They are all carefully written and timed and i do not have four to six hours a day to devote to writing on my blog. I dont know anybody that has something interesting to write about every single day.

  2. “My writing has gotten me into so much problems that I should at least be able to consider me a writer.” Hahaha. Loved that one so much.
    Happy New Year Chatte 🙂 and I hope you can make your resolution come true xx

Leave a thought...

